Vital Records

443-523-1700

Birth & Death Certificates can also be obtained from Maryland State Vital Records Administration.

Birth Certificates

Birth Certificates can be obtained for individuals born in Maryland for a fee of $25 at the Health Department, Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., except holidays and State service reduction days.

How to apply:

  • Apply in person.
  • Present a valid government issued photo ID. The photo ID must include an issue date and an expiration date.
  • Copies of birth certificates can only be given to the individual whose name is listed on the birth certificate, the mother or father listed on the birth certificate, or an individual with papers showing custody of the person whose name is listed on the birth certificate.
  • Complete Birth Certificate Application.

We accept cash, checks, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover.

Death Certificates

Death Certificates can be obtained from the Health Department, Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., except holidays and State service reduction. You may apply for Death Certificates copies for up to 30 days of the individuals death if the funeral director filed the death certificate with us. Certified death certificates are $25 for the first certificate and $20 for each additional certificate. After 30 days, you must apply for Death Certificate copies at State Vital Records Administration.

How to apply:

  • Apply in person.
  • Present a valid government issued photo ID. The photo ID must include an issue date and an expiration date.
  • Copies of Death Certificates can be given to the surviving relative of the deceased, an authorized representative of a surviving relative of the deceased, an individual who has a proven legal need, or the court of law.
  • Complete Death Certificate Application.

We accept cash, checks, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover.


View Full Site
Top